Hermelinda Coj Gutierrez
Ref# CA1376

About Me
My name is Hermelinda Coj Gutierrez. I'm a 12-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 21, 2009.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

I am so happy to have the opportunity to write you. I am Hermelinda Coj Gutierrez, and I am now 12 years old. This year, I am in fourth grade but I am studying at home most of the time due to the pandemic. I attend school to receive classes, study guides and leave my homework two days per week. I have not had any problems with this method because my teacher explains things well. As you know, my father does not live with us. My stepfather is the one who makes the effort to provide for our family. He works as a farmer and also as a day laborer, while my mother spends time takking care of us and raising domestic animals to help with the incomes. At the start of the pandemic, we were affected emotionally and economically, but thank God, we received a grocery bag through the Feeding program and also from the school. It was a blessing for us and all the families because it helps to cover our needs.

We feel blessed because nobody from my family has been affected by the pandemic which is affecting so many people around the world. My family and I are healthy and thankful because God has been faithful. In spite of this difficult time, we have had the necessities to cover our needs. We attend a Christian church on Sunday. God continues blessing Adopt-a-child for all the help that we have received. I want to tell you that my mother, Dominga, provided this information by phone because the evangelism teachers cannot have contact with the families due to the pandemic. I pray God will continue to keep all LW staff safe.

Many greetings,

Hermelinda Coj Gutierrez

Translated by AAC Secretary/Lucia Gravez