Juan Alfredo Luis
Ref# CA1873

About Me
My name is Juan Alfredo Luis. I'm a 11-year-old.

My birthday is
June 18, 2013.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Juan Alfredo Luis. I was born on June 18th, 2013, and I am already 10 years old. this year I attend 3rd grade at school. My favorite animal is the sheep, and the color I love is yellow. The meal I enjoy eating is fried chicken. I help my mother to unravel thread that she uses to weave, and I do it in my spare time. I live with my mother, three brothers and one sister; we all are in good health. I only have my mother's last name because she did not want my father to legally recognize me. He was living with us for years, but he abandoned us three years ago. My mother´s name is Genara Luis. She does the housework and weaves typical blouses to sell and supply our family´s needs. Furthermore, she raises hens and sheep.

We are members of the Catholic Church. We own the house in which we live; we have two adobe rooms with tin sheet roofs and a dirt floor. The kitchen is separate. We have running water but no electricity, so we use candles to get light. The running water is only one payment every year. The main need for my family is food, so please pray for us because my mother is a single parent, and it is hard for her to supply all that we need. The feeding program is located 30 minutes away from home by walking. My mother Genara Luis provided my personal information to the Living Water staff for my registration. Sending much love. Many and rich blessings!

Warm regards,

Juan Alfredo Luis

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua Guatemala