Edgar Wiliam Luis de Leon
Ref# PT0242

About Me
My name is Edgar Wiliam Luis de Leon. I'm a 9-year-old.

My birthday is
November 8, 2014.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Mayans who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche; however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans, and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows, and chickens.

Hello, my name is Edgar William Luis de Leon. I was born on November 8, 2014, and I am 9 years old. I am a healthy boy. I am in 3rd grade at school this year. My favorite color is green. I love rabbits.  My favorite food is fried chicken. I have 1 brother and 1 sister, and they are part of the Feeding Program.  We walk for three minutes to attend the Program. As a family, we are attending the Prince of Peace Church. I am under the care of my mother. My mother’s name is Luciana de Leon Simaj. She is a housewife and takes care of me. Moreover, she raises domestic animals to sell and get some income. My father`s name was Esteban Luis Gutierrez. Unfortunately, he passed away 3 years ago.  One day he was attacked by thieves and they killed him. I want to let you know that my grandmother helps us financially. Her name is Felipa Gutierrez. She raises hens and cows to sell and contribute economically to the family. I ask for your prayers for her because she suffers from her nervous system. Fortunately, she visited the doctor and is under medical treatment. We live in our own house, and we share it with my paternal grandmother. It has three rooms and one separated kitchen. The house is made of cement blocks, a terrace, and cemented floors. We have running water and electricity.  My grandmother helps us to pay for the services monthly. We have hens and cows at home, but we would like to have some chickens too. As a humble family, our needs are groceries and clothes. This is my personal information, and I hope you find it interesting. I want to let you know that my mother gave this information to the LW evangelism team.  God bless you greatly!

Lots of love,

Edgar William Luis de Leon

Translated by:  Gladys Chavez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua