Juliana De la Cruz Garcia
Ref# TU3142

About Me
My name is Juliana De la Cruz Garcia. I'm a 7-year-old.

My birthday is
August 20, 2016.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Tunaja is a small area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala. The inhabitants are Quiché Mayans who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. The prevalent language is the Mayani dialect - Quiché. The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system. Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it. Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area. Life in Tunaja is difficult.

Hello, my name is Juliana. I was born on August 20th, 2016, in Zacualpa! Quiche. I feel sad to tell you that my father abandoned us three weeks ago. His name is Luis Antonio de la Cruz Morente. He used to work as a mason or sometimes a day laborer. He has communication and helps us economically by the moment, but my mother does not know for how long since he is living with another family. My mother´s name is Juana Garcia, and thankfully, she is living with us. She does the hard work at home and raises domestic animals.  We are facing a hard time and mostly my mother because she does not know what to do in this situation. For that reason, I ask for your prayers for our family.

I am a healthy 7-year-old girl. I have one brother and two sisters. My sister Josselin is recently registered in the feeding program as well as me. We walk for three hours to attend the feeding program. My favorite dish is fried beans. I like the color red and rabbits. I enjoy playing football. I am in kindergarten this year. As a family, we are not members of any church yet. I hope my mother can take the decision to attend one soon.

We live alone in our own house that has adobe walls, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We use solar light since we do not have electricity. We used to have running water, but not anymore, because my father had many debts, so he stopped the service. Our neighbor gives us water for our consumption and my mother goes to a river to buy the clothes. We have ducks and chickens as domestic animals. Our main necessities are food and clothes. Thank you so much for letting me share you a little of my life. I thank my mom who gave the information to the LW teacher. I appreciate that you took time to read it. May God bless you abundantly and take care of you wherever you are! I send you my love.

Best regards from now on,

Juliana de la Cruz Garcia

Translated by: Mireya de Sadoval, AAC Secretary / Antigua