Dafne Esther Guzman Hernandez
Ref# DU2572

About Me
My name is Dafne Esther Guzman Hernandez. I'm a 15-year-old.

My birthday is
January 6, 2008.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire). The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports. Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs. Electricity is available to those who can afford it. Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing. Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider education of value. Life in Dueñas is quiet and sometimes difficult.

Hello! My name is Dafne Esther Guzman Hernandez, and it is a blessing to share a little bit about my life with you. Before doing it, I want you to know that I gave all this information to a teacher of LW. I was born on January 6, 2008. I am a healthy girl, and I am in ninth grade. My favorite pastimes are drawing, going for walks, and reading. I love dogs, and my favorite dish is Estofado, which is a delicious and typical casserole. My favorite colors are red and white. I live with my mother, siblings, and grandmother. I have one brother and two sisters. Sadly, I know nothing from my father. He abandoned my mom and me when I was born. My mother’s name is Lesbia Ester Guzman Hernandez. She is a hardworking woman who does her best for our family. She works partially in the feeding program on Tuesdays and Fridays. My grandmother’s name is Odilia Hernandez. She helps my mom to gather firewood to sell and get an extra income. Fortunately, my family is doing well. We attend Liberty Church. I am happy because I also can serve at church and the feeding program by doing whatever my brethren ask me.

My family and I live in a rented house. My mom and grandma pay Q500=$63.79 per month. The walls are made of blocks and plywood; the roofs are tin sheets; the floors are concrete and dirt. The house has two rooms but no kitchen. Therefore, we prepare our meals in an improvised kitchen on the patio of the house by using a firewood stove. We have electricity and running water. The rent payment includes the running water service payment but not electricity, so we have to pay for that service. Our greatest need is to have a wardrobe to protect our clothes. We would love to have our own house to live better. In addition, I would love to continue studying to become a professional. Therefore, I would love to count on your prayers for my family and me to accomplish our dreams. Fortunately, we live close to the feeding program because it is only a one-minute walk. We are deeply grateful to LW because of all the loving support we have received when we have needed it the most. I say goodbye to you for now, but I hope to hear from you someday. May God bless you!

Kisses and hugs,

Dafne Esther Guzman Hernandez

Translated by: Hillary Popol / AAC Secretary / Antigua Guatemala