Emely Estefany Tzoy Chocoj
Ref# CH4285

About Me
My name is Emely Estefany Tzoy Chocoj. I'm a 4-year-old girl.

My birthday is
April 23, 2015.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program


Program Country


My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Emely Estefany Tzoy Chocoj.  I was born on April 23, 2015.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 15 minutes to get to the feeding program.  My father’s name is Cesar and he works as a day laborer.  My mother’s name is Miriam and she takes care of our home.  We live in the house with my grandparents.  It has four rooms and a separate kitchen.  The house is made of adobe with a tile roof and a cement floor.  We have water and electricity.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my dolls and balls.  My favorite color is orange and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are watermelon and beans with sausages.  My family attends an Adventist church.

With much love and many blessings,

Emely Estefany Tzoy Chocoj

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary