Jeidi Keidi de la Cruz Barrera
Ref# CA1900

About Me
My name is Jeidi Keidi de la Cruz Barrera. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 22, 2014.
Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops. The Quiché Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Jeidi Keidi de la Cruz Barrera. I was born on April 22, 2014, and I am 9 years old. This year, I am repeating 2nd grade. I like the color red, and the rabbit is the animal I like the most. I love eating pizza. In my free time I enjoy playing with my dolls and toy dishes. Fortunately, I am in good health and so is my family. My mother´s name is Laura Barrera Mendez. She is a housewife, raises hens and cows, and in addition she weaves typical blouses to sell to get money and supply our needs. Furthermore, she goes to work in a tortilla shop in Guatemala City and my siblings and I go with her too. My father´s name is Rodolfo de la Cruz Hernandez. He decided to leave us and left to go to the United States, and now he has another family there. However, he communicates with my siblings and me and sends some money for our expenses. We do not know what kind of work he does.

For now, we do not attend church because my mother does not have time to go. We live in a rented house; the monthly payment is Q300.00 = $40.00 and my mother pays for it. We have three block rooms with tin sheet roofs and a granite floor. The kitchen is separated. There are running water and electricity services; my mother pays for them. For now, our top priorities are groceries. I live 30 minutes away from the feeding program. This time the Living Water staff collected this information personally for the record, and my mother Laura Barrera provided it. Take care of yourself. May God bless you wherever you go!

Best wishes,

Jeidi Keidi de la Cruz Barrera

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua Guatemala