Karla Mishel Sofia Hernandez Matias
Ref# JT2591

About Me
My name is Karla Mishel Sofia Hernandez Matias. I'm a 6-year-old.

My birthday is
March 6, 2015.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program


Program Country


My Story

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade.  Only one out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Karla Mishel Sofia Hernandez Matias. I was born on March 6, 2015, and I am 6 years old. I am a healthy girl, and I am in kindergarten this year; I am attending face-to-face classes once a week. I am coloring, drawing and playing with my dolls in my free time. I love pink, and I like rabbits. My favorite food is scrambled eggs. I only have one brother. I live about 25 minutes away from the feeding program. We are not attending a church.

My father’s name is Carlos Roberto Hernandez Garcia, and he works as a truck driver’s helper; it is not a stable job, and he only works when someone needs to load and unload gravel from one place to another. I would like to ask you to pray for my family because this situation is affecting us a lot financially. My mother’s name is Tania Mishel Matias Gonzales, and she is a housewife. We live in a three-room rented house which is made of tin sheets with a dirt floor. We have running water and electricity. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

Hugs and kisses

Karla Mishel Sofia Hernandez Matias

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua