Joel Pu Garcia
Ref# ZA4509

About Me
My name is Joel Pu Garcia. I'm a 11-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 11, 2008.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4509

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Joel Pu Garcia.  I was born on April 11, 2008.  I am a healthy child and I walk about 25 minutes to get to the feeding program. I have three brothers and two sisters.   My mother’s name Santos and she is a housewife.  My father’s name is Roselio and he is a farmer.  We rent the house in which we live and we pay Q300 ($40) per month.  The house has two rooms and a kitchen.  It is made of bricks with a cement floor.  We have water and electricity.  My family travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest.  I am in 4th grade.  My favorite color is black and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are applies and fried chicken.  In my free time, I like to study the Bible and play soccer.  My family attends an Adventist church.

With much love and many blessings,

Joel Pu Garcia

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary