Jose Leonardo Angel Miguel Calachij Luis
Ref# PT0248

About Me
My name is Jose Leonardo Angel Miguel Calachij Luis. I'm a 7-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 19, 2017.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Mayans who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche; however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans, and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows, and chickens.

Hello, my name Jose Leonardo Calachij Luis. I was born on January 19, 2017, and I am 6 years old. I am a healthy boy. I am in kindergarten at school this year. My favorite color is red. I love sheep. My favorite food is eggs. I like to play with toy cars at home. I have 2 brothers and 1 sister, and my brother is part of the Feeding Program.  We walk for thirty minutes to attend the Program. As a family, we are attending the Prince of Peace Church. I am under the care of my parents. My mother’s name is Pabla Luis Hernandez. She is a housewife and takes care of the family. Moreover, she raises hens and pigs to sell and get some income. My father`s name is Rodolfo Calachij Garcia. He earns a living by carrying heavy packages for others in Guatemala City local market in order to support us financially. We live in our own house, and we share it with my maternal grandmother. It has two rooms and a separated kitchen. The house is made of adobe, tin sheet roof, and dirt floors. We have no running water. We get it from a nearby river by connecting a hose. We have electricity and my father pays the service monthly. We have hens and pigs at home, but we would like to have some chickens too. As a humble family, our needs are groceries. This is my personal information, and I hope you find it interesting. I want to let you know that my mother gave this information to the LW evangelism team.  God bless you and take care of you!

Kisses and hugs,

Jose Leonardo Calachij Luis

Translated by:  Gladys Chavez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua